نبذة حول المشروع

ما معنى أن تستأثر أغاني الفلامنكو باهتمام المغاربة في حفلاتهم الموسيقية؟ وما علاقة الأغاني السفاردية بماضي إسبانيا؟ هل من مقابل موسيقي يعبر عن موروث التبادل الثقافي الذي تجسده تلك التحف المعمارية العجيبة مثل الجيرالدا في إشبيلية و"أختها" الكتبية في مراكش؟ ما الذي يدفع بعض الموسيقيين الجزائريين إلى الاهتمام بالتاريخ الثقافي المترابط للأندلس والمغرب العربي في باريس أو في مرسيليا؟

تحدد هذه الأسئلة إطار "ماضي التلاقي الموسيقي وحاضره عبر مضيق جبل طارق" (MESG)، مشروع استغرقت مدته خمس سنوات ومُوِّلَ من قِبَلِ مجلس الأبحاث الأوروبي. يجمع المشروع بين البحث الأرشيفي والعمل الميداني، وكذا بين التخصصات الجغرافية واللغوية والموسيقية المختلفة بهدف استكشاف سبل بناء تراث موسيقي مشترك بين شمال إفريقيا وجنوب أوروبا. لمدة قرون من الزمن والموسيقيون يسافرون عبر مضيق جبل طارق، الشيء الذي يعكس الروابط التاريخية الوثيقة بين جنوب أوروبا وشمال إفريقيا. وتعتمد الصناعة الموسيقية في هذه المنطقة جزئيًا على الموروث الإسباني في العصور الوسطى ("الأندلس"، 711–1492) وفكرة التبادل الثقافي بين المسيحيين واليهود والمسلمين. وقد استُعملت فكرة تراث موسيقي مشترك بين شمال إفريقيا وجنوب أوروبا لمجموعة من الأهداف: كوسيلة لإضفاء الشرعية على الاستعمار الأوروبي والسيطرة على شعوب شمال إفريقيا وتمثيلها؛ وكنوع من الدبلوماسية الثقافية والحوار بين مختلف الأطياف العرقية والدينية في غرب البحر الأبيض المتوسط؛ ثم كشكل من أشكال الهويات عبر الوطنية لمجتمعات شمال إفريقيا في المهجر.

يضم المشروع ثلاثة حقول بحثية متداخلة تتقاطع مع فترتي الاستعمار وما بعد الاستعمار (من القرن التاسع عشر إلى يومنا هذا)؛ وترتكز على مجموعة من الأنماط الموسيقية والتعبيرات الصوتية (الموسيقى العربية الأندلسية والفلامنكو والموروث السفاردي وموسيقى الجاز والغناء الاحتجاجي):

ذاكرة الأندلس الموسيقية: نقوم بدراسة الموروث الموسيقي الأندلسي وامتداداته في الحاضر-وكيف تم تأويل التاريخ الطوباوي لإسبانيا المسلمة واليهودية من قبل مجتمعات متنوعة باعتماد الموسيقى والغناء وذلك بغية تحقيق أهداف اجتماعية وسياسية مختلفة. لكن رغم الدور الهام الذي تلعبه الموسيقى في تعريف أجيال الحاضر بتاريخ

الأندلس، فقد ظلت أيضًا مرتبطة بشكل معقد بإرث الاستعمار الأوروبي والمشاريع القومية في بلدان شمال إفريقيا.

 

 الموسيقى والتاريخ الاستعماري: ندرس كيف مثلت الموسيقى شكلاً من أشكال المواجهة في المستعمرات الفرنسية والإسبانية في الجزائر والمغرب وعواصم الدول المستعمرة. بتركيزنا على التواريخ الصغيرة والأصوات المنسية، نهدف إلى استكشاف الدور الذي لعبته الموسيقى في إضفاء الشرعية على السلطة الاستعمارية ومعارضتها أيضا. علاوة على ذلك، نسعى إلى تجاوز ثنائية المُستعمِر والمُسْتمَعَر باستكشاف الروابط عبرالكولونيالية في سياقات جغرافية متنوعة ومتمايزة وبين مجتمعات عرقية ودينية مختلفة.

 

 اللقاءات الموسيقية ما بعد كولونيالية:  نقوم بدراسة الصناعة الموسيقية عند ثقافات البحر الأبيض المتوسط في مرحلة ما بعد الاستعمار، وذلك باعتماد بحوث إثنوغرافية تخص مجتمعات مختلفة. كما ندرس استمرارية تأثير الموروث الاستعماري على المنجز الموسيقي وتمثيله وأدائه. فرغم مرورنا من خطاب الأخوة الإسبانية-المغربية، إلى المزاعم الأوروبية بشأن الحفاظ على الموسيقى العربية الأندلسية، لا تزال الخطابات والعقليات الاستعمارية تؤثر على مسألة تعاطي الفنانين والمنظمات الثقافية مع الموسيقى في أعمال الدبلوماسية الثقافية وسياسات الهوية عبر وطنية عبر مضيق جبل طارق.

© 2020 by Veronika Lorenser

About the Project

Why might it make sense for Moroccan musicians to include flamenco in their concerts? What do Sephardi songs have to do with Spain’s past? What are the musical parallels for the legacies of cultural exchange that characterise architectural wonders such as the Giralda in Seville and its ‘sister’, the Koutoubia in Marrakesh? Why might some Algerian musicians promote the intertwined cultural histories of al-Andalus and the Maghreb in Paris or Marseille?

These questions frame ‘Past and Present Musical Encounters across the Strait of Gibraltar’ (MESG), a five-year project funded by the European Research Council. Combining archival research and fieldwork, the project brings together different geographical, linguistic and musical specialisms to explore the construction of a collective musical heritage between North Africa and Southern Europe. For centuries musicians have travelled across the Strait of Gibraltar, reflecting the close historical links between Southern Europe and North Africa. Music making across this region is partly underpinned by the legacies of medieval Spain (‘al-Andalus’, 711–1492) and the notion of cultural exchange between Christians, Jews and Muslims. The idea of a collective musical heritage between North Africa and Southern Europe has been used for a range of purposes: to legitimise European colonialism and the control and representation of North African peoples; as a form of cultural diplomacy and dialogue between different ethnic and religious communities in the Western Mediterranean; and as a form of transnational identity for North African communities in the diaspora.

 

The project is split into three interlocking areas of research that criss-cross colonial and postcolonial periods (from the 19th century to the present day) and that focus on a range of musics and sonic practices (Arab-Andalusian music, flamenco, Sephardi traditions, jazz and the soundscapes of protest):

 

  • The musical memory of al-Andalus: we examine the musical ‘afterlives’ of al-Andalus – how the utopian history of Muslim and Jewish Spain has been interpreted through music and sound by various communities for different social and political ends. Music plays an important role in bringing al-Andalus into the present but is also intricately tied up with the legacies of European colonialism in North Africa and projects of nationalism. 

 

  • Music and colonial history: we consider how music and sound constituted a form of colonial encounter in French and Spanish colonies in Algeria and Morocco, and in the metropoles. Focusing on micro-histories and hidden voices, we explore how music was used to legitimise and oppose colonial authority. Moreover, we seek to disrupt the binary of coloniser–colonised to explore transcolonial connections across different geographical contexts and between different ethnic and religious communities.

 

  • Postcolonial musical encounters: we explore intercultural music-making across the Mediterranean Sea in the postcolonial world, drawing on ethnographic research with different communities. We consider how colonial legacies continue to influence how music is performed and represented. From the discourse of a Spanish–Moroccan brotherhood, to European claims over the preservation of Arab-Andalusian music, colonial discourses and mentalities still influence how music is used by artists and cultural organisations in acts of cultural diplomacy and transnationalism across the Strait of Gibraltar.

© 2020 by Veronika Lorenser